Celeb-fit baby bump edition

It seems like there has been a lot in the news lately about celebrity pregnancy. And by news, I mean online gossip pages. Maybe there is a celebrity baby boom, or maybe I’m just noticing it more because of my own pregnancy. Either way, today I’m going to dish about a little bit of baby bump gossip!

First up, Christina Applegate, whose daughter is almost two, was recently quoted as saying:

I just transitioned out of maternity jeans. I’m working on two years and I haven’t even lost all my weight. And those girls that do, they’re spending less time with their kids. I just wanted to hang out with my daughter 24 hours a day.

Wow. Where do I start? Every time I read that quote I get mad all over again.

I don’t really care if she is still wearing maternity pants, though I gotta say, it kind of goes against my own personal philosophy of body after baby. But to tear down other women in order to justify her own choices pisses me off. Yes it does. It pisses me off.

If losing weight, and being fit and healthy doesn’t matter to Christina since the birth of her child, fine. Her choice. But to suggest that women who take time to themselves to exercise are somehow less caring mothers is insulting and absurd. I don’t believe being a mom means that you cease to exist as your own person. Nor do I believe you score some kind of mom bonus points because you spend 24 hours a day with your kid. Frankly, I don’t think that is healthy for anyone. It certainly doesn’t set a good example of balance and self-worth, particularly to a daughter who might have kids of her own one day.

If you want to read a wonderful piece on the idea that you don’t have to love every moment of being a parent, please read Don’t Carpe Diem, by Glennon Melton at Momastery. It’s funny and honest.

If exercise, fitness, and feeling good about yourself are things that make the hard times of parenting seem easier to you–if finding moments of Kairos time, as Glennon calls it, happens for you (as it sometimes does for me) when you are walking in nature, or pedaling away in cycling class, or dancing in Zumba, there is no reason to feel guilty.

So there.

At the exact opposite end of the spectrum, I was happy to see that Olympic beach volleyball superstar Kerri Walsh Jennings is expecting her third baby. Just like me.

That belly right there, was already cooking a kid as Kerri was winning her third Olympic gold medal. Yeah, I look like that too.

Upon announcing her pregnancy, Kerri joked,

When I was throwing my body around fearlessly and going for gold for our country, I was pregnant.

I doubt she’s a mom who thinks taking a little treadmill time means her kids are being neglected.

Another mom who has recently documented her post-baby workouts: Kristin Cavallari.

Here she is just eight weeks after the birth of her first son. She looks pretty amazing, right? Clearly that is some good genetics, and possibly some Spanx, plus, the girl is only 25. She also says she is breastfeeding, which does burn a significant amount of calories (not to mention being good for your baby), and taking a sensible approach to getting her body back.

I eat healthy in general and I’m taking it easy in the gym and working out three to four days a week. I’ve been on the treadmill and doing a little jogging, but taking it easy and not killing myself. And I haven’t really been stressing about it either. I think that helps.

Sounds like a good plan to me.

What about you moms out there? Do you feel guilty spending time on yourself instead of your kids? Or do you think workouts keep you healthy, sane, and make you a better parent? What’s your body after baby philosophy?

2 Comments to “Celeb-fit baby bump edition”

  1. I gained a significant amount of weight with my twins partly because of a rough pregnancy and bed rest for a month. I initially lost 20 pounds at my 3 month Dr. appt. From there I started walking and running from an hour to 2 hours a day and tried to watch what I ate, while still breastfeeding (10 months). I hardly lost any weight for over a year. When my twins were a year and a half my body finally clicked and started dropping pounds and I lost another 30. I’m stay a home mom and walking/running with the stroller works best for our schedule. I wish that I would have added some strength training into my routine earlier I think that would have helped take it off faster.I still have 10 more to go and my girls just turned 2.

    • I can only imagine what twins would do to a body! One baby at a time is bad enough! I found that with my previous pregnancies, initially a decent amount of weight dropped off in the first few months, but after that, my body really held on to the last 10-15 lbs until after I stopped nursing. That seemed to be the turning point for me. And yes, weight training is a huge help! If you don’t mind a suggestion, have you tried interval training? Either just cardio, or cardio combined with strength training exercises? Alternate short periods of higher intensity work (sprinting, incline, or body-weight exercises like squats or jumping jacks) with a recovery period of lower intensity exercise like walking. Also, you can incorporate body-weight exercises with your stroller walks/runs. Stuff like step-ups on a bench or piece of playground equipment, push-ups of any difficulty, walking lunges, mountain climbers, etc. 30 seconds of those kinds of exercises, a few times throughout a walk–you’ll notice the challenge and your girls should be able to handle a quick stop. You would be able to shorten your workouts to 30-45 minutes, and it might be enough to take you to the next level. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

