I like it DIRTAY!

I thought I’d keep us in the filthy muck for juuuusst a little longer.

Tough Mudder aside, most of the time, I’m a pretty well-behaved girl. I have nice manners, I wear clean clothes, I shower and wash my hair on a regular basis and as a mom, my vocabulary generally consists of words like, yucky, silly and goofy. But when it comes to my workout music, I love me some swear words! The more inappropriate, the better. Does anyone else feel like this, or am I alone in my sickness?

And no, I don’t mean dirty like Miss Xtina here. That’s wrong on a lot of levels.

Photo: elegantblessingz.blogspot.com

When I’m on the elliptical, plugged into my own headphones, I can listen to whatever I like and my fellow gym-goers are none the wiser (unless they can read lips!). But when I’m forced to listen to someone else’s music, like during an RPM class, I’m more than a little bothered by the edits. We’re all adults here; can’t we handle a little profanity now and then?

So what is it about naughty words that get my workout juices flowing? Is it the tone of the music, the beat, the message or some combination? I’m sure the heavy beat that tends to go with intense music is a big part of it, but I really do relish the occasional *&!# mixed into my playlist.

The research is clear–music improves workout performance, and even mental clarity. A recent study by a psychologist out of Ohio State University confirmed that participants who listened to music during bouts of exercise performed better on post-workout verbal tests. Check out this article for more details. According to researchers, no music = no change in test results. Keep in mind, this study exposed exercisers to Vivaldi, not Cee Lo, so I’m not sure how my verbal fluency would improve . . .

Anyone who has ever listened to music during a workout knows the right songs can motivate you to workout harder. Sometimes it’s just the rhythm that you feel in your body, helping push your intensity level and drown out your discomfort. It can also have something to do with the artist or lyrics: I love when Pink sings “so what, I’m still a rock star,” or when Swade shouts, “all in balls out!” Heck yeah (and yes, I did say “balls”)!

I thought I’d give you a peek at some of the classics on my dirty song playlist–you know, just in case you were curious:

  • Cee Lo Green–you know I don’t mean the “Forget You” version
  • “Burn It To The Ground,” by Swade (that’s the one with the balls)
  • “Celebration,” the Blunatix Mix
  • “In One Ear,” by Cage The Elephant
  • “You’re Gonna Go Far Kid,” by The Offspring
  • “S&M,” by Rihanna–no real profanity but a naughty theme
  • Anything by P!nk–she doesn’t swear in all of her music, but I always get the impression she wants to. Come to think of it, Ke$ha is like that too.

One song that takes it a little too far, even for me is “Tonight I’m Loving You,” by Enrique Iglesias. Of course  he doesn’t really say “loving” if you catch my drift. I mean, he’s kinda cute and all, but for some reason it just doesn’t work for me.

Do you have any favorite workout songs? Do they have naughty words? If so, send ‘em my way!

6 thoughts on “I like it DIRTAY!

  1. Papa says:

    Any way you can download those songs to my old MP3 player so I can decide whether I need to wash your ears out with soap.

Leave a Reply

