10 deep thoughts on whole living

Looking back on the first couple of weeks of my blog, I feel kind of embarrassed. I’ve been reveling in bad language, rolling around in the mud and drinking too much liquor. This is supposed to be a wellness blog, for crying out loud! So today I’m going to try to elevate myself to the level that you, my seven faithful readers deserve.

From author Terri Trespicio and the folks at Whole LIving magazine, here are “10 Thoughts on Whole Living.” The magazine people thought of that title–I’m just adding some deep thoughts of my own.

  1. Rather than try to fix your body, focus on how you want it to feel. Nuf said.
  2. The mark of true confidence is the ability to look someone in the eye.
  3. Let the seasons guide your diet. The earth grows what you need, when you need it. The earth does not, unfortunately, grow yogurt-covered pretzels or gummy bears.
  4. Respect your feet. They’ve mastered the art of staying grounded while moving forward. 
  5. Take charge of your own reflection: stop letting the mirror win.
  6. Enlightenment doesn’t always make a grand entrance. It slowly transforms the ordinary into the extraordinary. 
  7. Change happens somewhere between the acceptance of now and the anticipation of what’s to come. If anyone gets this one, please explain it to me.
  8.  Don’t obsess over weight loss. Wellness is about making your life bigger, not smaller. I LOVE this! I think this great number eight is the only reason I’m doing this post in the first place. So often we whittle down our list of acceptable foods into something only a monk could love. That’s kind of depressing and guilt-inducing, and will likely send you to the grocery store for ice cream late on a Saturday night. Wouldn’t it feel so much better to make choices from a place of opening up opportunities? For example, “If I eat healthier foods, my body will feel better, I’ll have more energy and self-confidence and I’ll totally rock that sexy dress at the Fourth of July celebration.” I know initially it might be challenging to reframe it that way, but it sounds good, doesn’t it? 
  9. Surprise yourself: push past your physical limits. Trust me, this feels awesome! 
  10. Nothing connects you to who you are quite like the people who knew you when. As someone who has some exceptional friends from way back, I know this to be true. But I’ve also moved a lot, and had to make new friends, so I”ll tell you there is a flip side: new people can open up a side of yourself you didn’t know existed, or give you the courage to try something you’ve always wanted to try. So cherish the ones who’ve been there for you, but embrace the new ones too. Who knows how they might change you for the better. 

Whew, being inspirational is exhausting. I think I’ll go have a drink. Happy Fourth of July weekend everybody!

Leave a Reply

