Practicing what I preach

Today I am

Please forgive the bright light over my head. Either I’m an angel (that goes without saying), or I have limited options when taking self-portraits. Here is what happened when I tried to get my trusty child/future professional photographer to take the photo:

Figured the backlighting was better.

Anyway, after publishing my call to action, I decided it was time to get my rear in gear. You see for the past seven months, I have not been doing much in the way of strength training. I know, I know, hypocrite. But cut me a little slack while I give you the back story. Literally.

Shortly before Christmas 2010, I did a big number two on my back. As in, “holy shit, what did I just do to my back?!” I will spare you the saga, but basically, I messed it up, and then laid around, legs up, drinking wine and eating Christmas cookies while I got crabbier, and crabbier. Reading over that sentence, I’m afraid you might think some of it sounds kinda fun. It wasn’t.

Prior to this injury, I was in better shape than I’d been in since Graham was born. I was teaching, running, lifting, doing yoga and swimming. I felt great, and then bam-o, I didn’t. Since then, I’ve slowly recovered through rest, chiropractic, massage, and finally, working at a scaled back level. In order to correct the problem and keep this from EVER happening again, I began Pilates reformer classes in March, faithfully attending twice a week. I’ve been able to rebuild my cardiovascular fitness, and my back and core have gotten stronger, but sadly, I have gotten flabbier, and flabbier. Without the high intensity, total body strength training spiked with cardio intervals that was my exercise staple, I am a shadow of my former self. Actually, that’s not true. I’m a bigger version of my former self, and that feels, well, crappy. So yesterday, I decided I better start . . . say it with me now,

DOING IT.

So I pulled out my trusty copy of Making the Cut, by Jillian Michaels.

You can tell this book has gotten some use; I think I’ve gone through the 30-day exercise plan three or four times. The exercises are nothing new. It’s just a split routine (meaning different muscle groups on different days), incorporating high intensity circuits. But man, does it work. And sometimes, even a trainer likes to be told what to do. So coach Jillian and I are going to be workin’ it for the next 28 days (I’ve done days one and two already).

If you’re looking for some workout inspiration of your own, check out this book. It’s not for beginners, but if you have a decent understanding of proper form, and a base level of fitness, you can definitely start “DOING IT.” C’mon, wanna DO IT with me?

3 thoughts on “Practicing what I preach

  1. Pingback: am yoga | wishfit

Leave a Reply

