Workout of a different sort

Today is an official rest day on my 30-day challenge, so though I will likely do some cardio later, coach Jillian has given me the day off from an actual workout. So in honor of my favorite non-fitness blog, Young House Love, I am doing a home improvement project.

I got this dresser off of Craig’s List a couple of nights ago, and it’s been sitting in my garage, waiting for inspiration to stick. Yes, stick. Striking is not usually a problem for me, it’s the sticking part that I wrestle with. I’m very indecisive.

Anyway, the dresser is for the boy’s room, so obviously white (please little boys, make me as dirty as possible) with purple hardware is not going to work. I tossed around a few ideas, and finally put it before my committee for a vote. The committee was unanimous.

Photo: ehow.com

“We want the rainbow dresser,” said the committee spokesman (Garrett). So now I’m working on my own version of this dresser.

I’ve been to Home Depot twice in the last 24 hours, and will be going at least one more time today. This morning I removed the hardware while Graham cheered me on. This was no easy task, as the previous owners painted it while it was attached to the dresser, hence the cheering. Then I sanded, wiped and primed the surfaces.

There she (he?) is, all primed and ready to go, waiting for me to decide on paint colors.

I think these are them. The dark blue will be the base, and the others will each grace a drawer. Did you do the math? There are six drawers and only five colors (besides the blue base). That means one color to decide on.

I’m looking for the perfect shade of mud brown. Ha. They’re actually all khaki-ish shades, though it’s hard to tell in the picture. I will decide before Home Depot closes tonight.

Tomorrow, on to painting, drying, painting, drying and finishing with a coat or two of polyurethane. I’m not sure how many days that will take, but I’ll post pictures when I’m through, even if it turns out like crap.

What do you think? Will it look awesome, fun and modern? Or cheesy and cheap-o-la? Are you confused because you thought you were following a wellness blog, and now it has turned into decorating central? If you’ve ever refinished furniture, you know it’s hard work. I know Jillian Michaels wouldn’t count it, but what the heck does she know?

3 thoughts on “Workout of a different sort

    • wishfit says:

      Yes, I am very crafty. Ha. I’m hoping it turns out as good as the picture. I wish you were here too! Hope things are going great. Thanks for reading my stuff.

Leave a Reply

