The clothes have a home

The dresser is done. Oh yeah!

I actually finished it on Sunday, but it had to sit awhile to make sure the polyurethane sealed up tight. No dents or dings on that sucker. Then I had to get some strong men to carry it upstairs. Then I had to figure out where it would go, which involved some sighing from one of the said strong men. Finally, I got it positioned, filled and accessorized.

Just to draw out the big reveal a little longer, here’s how it looked when I first bought it.

I

Here it is, one or two coats in (I lost count, but I think the final tally was four, plus touch-ups)

And here it is in all its glory!

Ooohhhh, aaaaahhhhh

This photo is of the toy boxes we already had, but once I got the dresser in, I hung the little mirror and added the antique truck. The lamp is also filled with inexpensive toy cars.

Here is a close-up of the mirror/truck combo. The mirror is a fun little piece I found at Marshall’s for about $20. It’s made out of rolled up newspapers and magazines, and it has lots of bright colors that echo those in the room. Antique truck courtesy of my mother-in-law, supplier of almost all the antique wonderment in my house.

I don’t have a shot of the whole room because frankly, I’m just not that talented a photographer, and I couldn’t get everything nicely in the frame. I think you get the gist though.

I really love how it turned out, and the boys do too. Graham, who “helped” with the whole project, was really excited to pick his drawers. Garrett, otherwise occupied with backpacking, took the leftovers and didn’t care at all. Big surprise. Mostly I’m glad that the clothes are all nicely arranged in the dresser, instead of heaped in the closet. Now the closet shelves are housing puzzles and games instead of a jumble of clothes, toys and unhung framed photos, etc.

I hope you all like the finished product as much as we do. If you don’t, well, unless you’ve refinished your own magnificent dresser, I don’t want to hear it!

12 thoughts on “The clothes have a home

  1. Karen Pavone says:

    My babies’ dresser never looked so beautiful. I hope your boys enjoy the dresser for years to come; so glad it went to a loving home.

  2. Bev says:

    Wow … it all turned out so great! I love how you placed everything. Someone has done a good job of teaching you good design concepts.

Leave a Reply

