We have a winner

I’ve decided Fridays are for fun. We can talk about science, and exercise and goal-setting on those earlier, more serious days of the week. But Friday, well Friday is going to be reserved for the frivolous, silly, gossipy or whatever else I feel like, because it’s my blog and I can.

Today I’m thinking all about the last two nights of So You Think You Can Dance! I can’t believe it took me seven seasons to finally get on the fan train. What was I doing with my life before I started watching this breathtaking show? I can hardly remember, though I’m sure Mike thinks back on the pre-dance days fondly. Years of football makes me say, “deal with it buddy.”

Photo: people.com

So glad Melanie won. I kinda called that one a long time ago, not that I’m bragging or anything. I’ve liked her from the beginning, and she just got better and better. Don’t you think she kind of looks like Ginnifer Goodwin?

Photo: beautyeditor.ca

Anyway, I was thrilled she won. The last several weeks, I started really liking Sasha too, and I think it could have gone either way. But Melanie just seemed more versatile. That girl could do an-ee-thing, anything. Except maybe Disco. The guys weren’t bad either, but really, I never thought one of them had a chance. Most of the time, no matter how good the guy is, it’s the girl I’m watching. They just draw your eye more, I think. The guys are like the backdrop! Like that Queen number that Tad and Lauren did; he was just there to make her look good. Sorry Tad.

And another thing: how freakin’ awesome is Cat Deeley? Love her, want to be her, am a little bit obsessed with her.

Photo: realitytvmagazine.sheknows.com

She is gorgeous, obviously, and her hair is enviable. But I love how she is so chic and sophisticated, and then the she opens her mouth and this enormous, gusty laugh comes out, and you realize she is a total goofball.

And finally, sadly, I feel I have to address the elephant in the post. Katie Holmes totally sucked. There, I said it. It was hard for me because I used to watch Dawson’s Creek (whatever, if you are in your 30s you know you watched it too), and I liked her so much. But then the whole Tom Cruise thing, and I’ve tried to keep liking her, I’ve really tried. I’ve forgiven her a lot. But her guest judging was so craptastic, I don’t even have words. Way to go, Katie, way to go.

Whew. Ok, anyone still reading? I know I probably lost some people with this post, but that can’t be helped. If I can’t dance, at least I can gush about it. Anyone else have any thoughts to share? Were you happy Melanie won? Do you try to recreate the routines in your living room? Are you planning to try out next season? If you think you’ve got what it takes, send me a video. I’ll post it!

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “We have a winner

  1. Judy-O says:

    So fun…and on a Friday! Thanks. Dancing let’s the soul fly free…it’s meditation in motion. At least I sure think so.

  2. Erin Grant says:

    Oh my goodness. I don’t watch the show, but as I was flipping through channels the other night I stopped because I thought it was Ginnifer Goodwin dancing. Then I saw Katie Holmes and I wondered if she thought the dancer looked like Ginnifer as well….since, you know, Ginnifer was engaged to Katie’s ex fiance, Chris Klein. Who might I add was the best man in my friend’s wedding last month.

  3. shelley says:

    Trish, when I read your post I thought I was reading my own blog. I agree with absolutely everything you posted. Even down to how sad I am about Katie. I just couldnt stand her on the show. And Kat just makes my heart smile.

Leave a Reply

