This quinoa porridge is juuust right

I’ve been wanting to try a quinoa breakfast porridge for ages, and last week when I was sick, I finally did. I know, I dream big.

In case you aren’t familiar with this tasty grain, it’s pronounced keen-wa, and is about as close to perfect nutrition as you can get. It’s a gluten-free, high protein, complex carb that can be eaten sweet or savory. I’ve used it as a dinner side lots of times, but I’ve never done the breakfast thing. Martha Stewart to the rescue.

I found this recipe on her website, and swapped out strawberries for the blueberries she recommends. We can’t all hand-pick wild blueberries on our compound in Maine, Martha.

It tasted great when I was sick, and it tasted great when I made it again today. FYI, today I made it with water instead of milk, and while it was good, it was definitely better with the milk. I also added blueberries (Martha FedExed me some), and chopped walnuts.

If you’ve been choking down  your oatmeal all these years (you know you don’t really like it; it tastes like glompy glue), quinoa is the thing to try. It’s even kid-approved (you didn’t think that was my construction fork did you?), as Graham ate all of his and then asked for more.

I know this isn’t technically food blog, but part of wellness is eating healthy food, and sometimes I find a meal I’m so excited about, I have to share. And quinoa is just that exciting. One thing to note, when cooking this grain make sure you rinse it thoroughly first, otherwise it will have a bitter taste. If you, like me, find rinsing a bowl full of tiny grains a huge pain in the butt, get yourself to Costco and buy their Bob’s Red Mill brand; it’s pre-rinsed.

Let me know if you try this recipe and dance around the kitchen at the very thought of its wonderfulness. Happy cooking!

One thought on “This quinoa porridge is juuust right

  1. Bev says:

    I love the photo; adore the construction fork (haven’t seen that before!); and think this post is so cleverly written. Your dad, however, will take issue with your description of oatmeal. He lives for his oatmeal on cool Saturday mornings. We might have to try this, as we do usually have quinoa on hand.

Leave a Reply

