am yoga

It’s 9pm as I write this, and my child is having a meltdown of epic proportions. I won’t name names in order to protect the guilty, but you have a 50/50 chance of guessing right (no, it’s not Mike). Luckily for me, my wonderful husband is on tantrum-duty tonight, so I am sitting on the porch, thinking calm thoughts and not drinking a gin and tonic–yet. That’s because I’ve found inner peace.

Last week, I decided to try adding a little more yoga into my life. After several weeks of my 30-day challenge workouts, my back was barking. I know, I know, I said it was going fine. I lied.

Actually, the first week or so was ok, but by day 15 or 16, I was starting to feel it in a bad way. Then I got sick, and miraculously, my back got better. Lets see, no hardcore workouts = no back pain. That is not an equation that leads to fitness in my book, and I was NOT happy. So I’ve backed off the intensity a little, and decided to try adding in some more yoga for flexibility and active recovery. Unfortunately, there is only one appropriate class at the gym that really fits into my schedule (and I’m taking it), so I decided I needed to get a little more proactive.

Since workout dvds are not my thing, I thought I might like to try some yoga podcasts on my iPod. That way, I could get up a little earlier and try to fit in some gentle yoga before the day gets going.

Here is my stuff, sitting on the chair next to my bed, all ready to go.

I’m sure there are tons of options for podcasts out there, but I turned to Yoga Journal, and found a whole series of free sessions to download. There seem to be classes of all levels, but I’m sticking to the gentle stuff for now, and I especially like Jason Crandell’s morning sequence. So far I’ve done it a couple of times and I’m totally blissed out. Oh sorry, that just slipped out because I’m such a yogi now. Not a whole lot of back benefits so far, but it’s been less than two weeks. And I guess it will help my crabby attitude if my back doesn’t feel better . . . EVER!!!!! Around this house, we call it a crabitude.

So, anyone out there care to join me? You could get up at about 5:23 am (I like to set my alarm for odd times), and we could commune via the yoga gods. Too weird? Maybe.

Seriously though, if you have a great yoga practice you’d like to share, let me know. Has yoga changed your life? Do you love how they call it the “back body” or “side body,” as in, “this pose will really open up the back body.” Makes me smile every time.

9 thoughts on “am yoga

  1. Bev says:

    I’ve lost track of how many years I’ve been doing yoga, and I hate when I miss my weekly class; I always leave feeling like I’ve done something good for my body. I rarely practice in between because I really need that voice guiding me through the poses. One thing I do, though, is use yoga poses when I’m gardening: runner’s lunges to reach a weed; down-dogs to stretch and get up after kneeling, etc. The neighbors probably think “what the …?” but it works for me. I need to check out those podcasts, even though I’m techie challenged and don’t even own an iPod (or an “i” anything for that matter). I’m sorry your back is still bothering you!!

    • wishfit says:

      I’ve always felt the same–love yoga but have a hard time practicing on my own. The podcasts really changed that for me. Or maybe it’s just different needs and a new mindset. You don’t need an iPod for the podcasts. It will work to play them on your laptop–audio or video.

  2. Chrissy says:

    Yoga has also changed my life. It is true bliss -mind, body and soul. Saturday mornings we dash off and leave the little ones to the babysitter. We come back ready for a crazy week and full of balance and more patience than we would have had without that time on our mats and together as a couple. It is an addiction that I crave on a daily basis, yet can only get to once a week due to schedules. Hopefully my home practice can get more refined. Additional postings on which DVD’s really offer a nice complement to a studio practice would be great. I checked out a streaming studio in LA which offered real time classes, but wasn’t quite right for me. Our Andrea, the owner of WIld Mountain Yoga in Nevada CIty, CA is truly a gift!!! Nothing has come close to comparing!

  3. Chrissy says:

    This one was a great motivator! Before bed I opened my mat so that when I got up in the morning it was right there calling to me. After being woken up at 4am by one and 5am by the next, instead of lying in frustration longing for my stolen sleep I used the time for myself on my mat. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

