Pumpkin spice and everything nice

that’s what fall is made of.

Photo: starbucks.com

Don’t mind the hair and the glasses–just keepin’ it real.

Fall is my favorite season. I love the change of weather, the crisp days, the soft light, the smell of rotting leaves (that’s what it is, you know) and fires in the fireplace (unless there are burn restrictions of course, which while obviously necessary, kind of takes the fun out of things). I love baking and crock-potin’ and of course, I love me a Starbucks pumpkin spice latte. Usually I’m a Peet’s Coffee and Tea kind of girl, but Starbucks knows how to do that spicy pumpkin right.

So today, I thought I’d just provide a little recap of some of the fun fall activities that have been going on in the wishfit circle of love.

Saturday I took the kids for a quick run before Garrett’s soccer game.

That white dot just after the curve in the path is Garrett on his bike. I love that I can go for a run and he rides his bike along with way ahead of me. Of course, I still have to push Graham in the stroller, but that just adds a little extra oomph to the workout.

After soccer (we lost), we went over to my cousin’s house for dinner, where we were treated to a yummy butternut squash risotto. If it has butternut or pumpkin, I am all over that. If you are interested in the exact recipe, you can find it in this cookbook. It’s from the Madison Area CSA Coalition, and my cousin says she “LOVES IT!” If you haven’t checked out a CSA yet, you should! Otherwise, there are plenty of risotto recipes floating around the internet; I just can’t vouch for their yumminess.

The next day, the fall fun continued with a family hike in the Boulder area. We took a kid-friendly trail, and meandered along at a kid-friendly pace. By the end, I’m not sure all of the adults were feeling too “kid-friendly.” But, like I said in this post, sometimes you have to suck it up in order to get your kids our there, experiencing the world and being active.

There is our band of fearless adventurers. At least they are cute, right?

After the hike, we went into the city of Boulder and partied it up at their Downtown Fall Fest. It was pretty fun, though a little bit dangerous what with the wild animals roaming the streets.

Stay tuned for more fall adventures. Up next weekend–elk bugling, which is what happens when male elk are out looking for a “girlfriend.”

One thought on “Pumpkin spice and everything nice

Leave a Reply

