Fall recipe series–Italian egg-drop soup

Today’s recipe has nothing to do with fall, but it is a recipe and I made it in the fall, so it gets included in the series. It has the added bonus of being low-calorie and loaded with nutrients, and I cannot say that about all of the fall recipes. You know there will be something made out of sinful pumpkiny goodness coming up in the next month or so.

I almost didn’t make this soup because I thought egg-drop sounded disgusting, but I’m so glad I tried it anyway.

I love this soup!

It’s easy, it’s super healthy and the leftovers are good (I just had some for lunch, so I know). Every bite felt like I was adding nutritious yumminess to my body.

It scored a 50 percent with the boys: Garrett loved it (two bowls), and Graham did not. Well, that’s not totally true. He said, “I yike the soup mommy, I just don’t yike the flavor of it.” Hmmmmm.

Here is the link to the recipe, from Eating Well, of course.

I made a couple of adjustments. I couldn’t find whole wheat pasta at the little market I stopped at, so I got a fun, shell-shaped fresh pasta, which was really good. However, if you can find it, whole wheat is almost always preferable to white–it gives a much richer flavor and is obviously more healthy.

I also substituted frozen spinach for the arugula. I love arugula, especially wilted with pasta, but again, couldn’t find it at the store (I was in a tiny specialty market that seemed to be running low–you should have no problem finding these ingredients at your local grocery store). Anyway, the spinach was awesome too–I just threw it in there still frozen, and it worked out just fine.

Lastly, don’t skimp on the parmesan. Get the good stuff, and grate it fresh. You don’t need much, but that little zing of cheese really makes this soup!

So there you have it. Try this soup; you won’t be disappointed. And if you are, you must have done something wrong because I wouldn’t give you a stinker recipe.

Btw, it goes great with a glass of red wine!

2 thoughts on “Fall recipe series–Italian egg-drop soup

Leave a Reply

