Motivation board

In case you are wondering, my mojo is still humming along nicely. I decided to harness this burst of focus and create a visual reminder of the things that inspire me. In other words, a motivation board.

If you watched Oprah (O, how I miss you), you may be familiar with a similar technique, called a vision board. “O Magazine” writer and life coach Martha Beck talks about them a lot. Check out Beck’s article about how to create a vision board, here.

I created a vision board of my own a few years ago, and I found it again when we moved to Colorado. Strange, but on the board was a photo of me hiking Maroon Bells/Snowmass and a clipping that said, “Welcome to Colorado.” I put this board together when we were living in California, and I was hoping to some day return to Colorado. Now, here we are. There are a few other things on the board that have either come into my life since then, or that I’m currently working on and see great promise for. Coincidence? I think not, and Beck agrees with me.

Excited about the success of my vision board, I figured I could make something similar, only with a focus on health, fitness and wellness goals. Of course you could combine your vision and motivation boards; after all, a vision board is what you see as your best life and hopefully that includes wellness. But being that wellness is my passion and my profession, I decided to give it a dedicated board.

Here I am, working on my board. It was fun to do with Graham. He cut and colored his own “projects,” while I collaged away.

Here’s the completed board. I left some room on there for other pictures I may find down the road. I also included some quotes I liked, hand-written on sticky notes. That way, I can easily change them out if I want to. Warning, some of them contain bad words. Remember, I like my fitness a little dirty.

At first I put it on my fridge.

But for some reason, that’s annoying me. Instead of looking at it and feeling pumped, I give it the stink eye and walk away. That is not the response I was hoping for, nor was it my initial reaction to the completed board. Before I hung it up, I was loving it.

Then, as I was writing this post, I went back and re-read Beck’s article (the one I linked to above), and she says don’t display the board. In fact, she says, “Stop thinking about it. Lose it. Recycle it. The biggest mistake aspiring reality creators make . . . is continuing to push something they’ve already set in motion. You’ve felt the repellent energy of salespeople desperate to hook you—it makes you sprint away so fast, you cause sonic booms. Don’t use that results-oriented energy.

So I’m sort of thinking of putting my board in the closet.

Btw, if you are not familiar with the writing of Martha Beck, I’d encourage you to check out some of her books or columns. She’s obviously smart (Harvard educated) but super funny, self-deprecating and inspirational. Personally, I’ve read Expecting Adam and Steering By Starlight; both very good.

3 thoughts on “Motivation board

  1. Deanna says:

    I am a big believer in vision boards. In fact, I just finished teaching a Yoga for Weight Loss Workshop series, in which I had the students create a board for themselves. One student was so excited by what she created she even framed it!

    Keep up the great work!

  2. Adiphene reviews says:

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative and
    interesting, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m
    very happy that I stumbled across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

