It’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s a . . . parachute?

Nope, it’s just me, subjecting myself to more foolishness in the name of fixing my back. I have no shame, obviously, because if I did, I would NEVER share this awful photo with you. But, for the sake of educating my readers (and generating post ideas while my kids are on Winter Break), I’m going there.

Honestly, I don’t even know what this thing is called, but I guess it does resemble a parachute harness. The idea is that the vest gets strapped around your torso, and then a hydraulic lift thingy pulls up on your body, taking pressure off of the spine. Or something like that. I think. Otherwise my physical therapist just likes to have something funny to break up his day.

And unfortunately, this is not even the most embarrassing thing I’ve had to endure while rehabbing my back at Colorado Spine Therapy. Yes, I’ve moved on from chiropractic to physical therapy. I was having temporary relief from the chiropractic treatment, but as soon as I tried to ramp up my activity, I’d be back to square one. Mutually frustrated, my chiropractor and I decided I needed something more, so she referred me to the physical therapist.

Finally, finally, I am improving. Really improving. S-l-o-w-l-y. Much too slowly for my taste. But still, I’m having more manageable episodes of pain, and the time between flare-ups is getting longer. The best part? I’m gradually easing back into more challenging workouts with no ill effects.

So if I have to look like a goofball in the process? It’s progress people.

My physical therapist says he expects me to do better and better, until I’m just doing maintenance exercises to keep things functioning properly. I am choosing to believe him.

On that note, I’m heading to the gym to do my back exercises and run a little bit. Yesterday, I clocked 15 minutes on the treadmill, running intervals for about half of that time. Like I said, s-l-o-w. But it feels so great!

Btw, if when looking at that picture, you wonder whether I’m starting to develop jowls, rest assured I am not. It’s just the harness smooshed up around my face, and the upward angle of a photo taken by my six-year-old.

Talk about a goofball!

3 thoughts on “It’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s a . . . parachute?

  1. Bev says:

    It’s called “traction”! I used to do it lying on the floor with a harness around my chin connected to an eye-hook in the baseboard. Remember? Yours looks a lot more high-tech. Tell Garrett I hope his face doesn’t freeze like that! 😉

Leave a Reply

