Best day ever!

Holy camoly. Did you know today is National Peanut Butter day? I never knew such a thing existed, but now that I do, I’m going to shout it from the rooftops. Or at least from this here blog.

Photo: daveywaveyfitness.com

I love peanut butter. So the fact that there is a day to celebrate that creamy, yummy goodness (creamy over chunky any day), well that just puts a smile on my face.

We eat lots of peanut butter in this house, though I do keep it to once a day. In small amounts peanut butter can definitely be part of a healthy diet, as long as you try to stick to brands lower in sugar. Keep in mind that one serving is 2 Tablespoons. That’s a lot less than you might think when slathering it on to your sandwich bread. Try measuring to see how much you’re really using.

I like to have peanut butter on toast for breakfast. The warm toast melts the peanut butter, making it easier to spread, therefore requiring less peanut butter to cover the bread. It also tastes richer when it’s melted.

There’s a whole world of peanut butter beyond just sandwiches and toast, though. At Christmas, we bust out with our famous peanut butter balls, and for Mike’s birthday, nothing will do but peanut butter pie. I also have a couple of go-to recipes that I’d love to share with you today: peanut butter soup and peanut butter pasta with veggies.

Senegalese Peanut Soup 

2 Tbsp olive oil

3 cups butternut squash, diced (I usually use the frozen stuff)

2 cups chopped onion

1 Tbsp minced garlic

2 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp ground red pepper

3 Tbsp all-purpose flour

1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes in juice, undrained

4 cups low-sodium chicken broth

1 (14 oz) can light unsweetened coconut milk

2/3 cup chunky natural peanut butter

2 cups cooked chicken (I just use shredded rotisserie chicken to save time)

1/2 tsp salt, or to taste.

1. Heat oil in a 5- or 6-quart Dutch oven over medium heat; add squash, onion, garlic, curry and red pepper. Cook 2 minutes, stirring. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook 10 minutes. Sprinkle flour over veggies. Add tomatoes and juice; continue to cook and stir for 1 minute.

2. Add broth, coconut milk and peanut butter, stirring to blend in peanut butter. Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover pot and simmer 15 minutes, or until squash is tender (mine is usually pretty mushy by this point, but that’s ok). Stir in chicken and salt; continue to cook 2 minutes to heat chicken through. Ladle into bowls. Garnish with parsley if you feel like going that extra mile. I never do. Parsley is kind of annoying.

Total cooking time: 30 minutes. Makes 8 servings. Each serving: 400 cal, 27 g fat, 19 g protein, 26 g carbs.

I know I should credit this recipe to someone other than my dad (who shared it with me a few years ago), but I’m not sure where he got it. Maybe the Sacramento Bee, though I searched and didn’t find it there. Don’t turn me in to the recipe police ok?

The other recipe is from Eating Well. Just click on this link

Do you love peanut butter too? Crunchy or creamy? Have any wonderful peanut buttery goodness to share? Are you allergic to peanuts and therefore living a life devoid of joy? I will shed a tear for you.

6 thoughts on “Best day ever!

  1. Papa says:

    On one of my many trips to Africa in the early 70’s, the 1970’s not my age, I was welcome into a lovely Senegalese village. They assumed I was a god from their past who had been reincarnated to show them the way to prosperity through my superior wisdom. To honor me they created this fine soup. Or I could be confused and really found the recipe in the March 2007 Redbook magazine. I’ve lived such an exciting life I sometimes get mixed up. Sorry to hear about Garrett hitting his head and having it role around on the floor. Good thing you were able to restaple it to his head.

  2. shelley says:

    Trish, I’m sorry I didn’t comment on your last few posts. You are such a great Mom. I hope everything is going easier now that Mike is home. Trips to the ER are not fun.

    Thank you for sending out all the great information. Even if I don’t always coment, know that I read everyone of your blogs and love hearing from you. I think I might make your “Peanut Noodles with Shredded Chicken & Vegetables” recipe, tomorrow night.

    I hope I get to see you guys next time you are in town.
    Shelley

  3. Liz says:

    I just love peanut butter and try to eat it on toast in the morning. It makes me feel satisfied for the rest of the day. When I start with eggs and toast I feel like I’m already thinking about what I get to eat next. Thanks for a fun post!

Leave a Reply

