Slow salad

I’m sitting here, eating my salad, and feeling slightly annoyed that it takes so long. I mean, the lettuce slides off the fork, the little tomatoes keep rolling around, making it difficult to spear them. I can hardly get a decent forkful in my mouth. I’m trying to be healthy here. It shouldn’t be so frustrating.

Waaaiiiittt a minute. Maybe it should. Maybe if the other foods we eat were a little harder to dish up and get down, we might not eat so much, so fast.

If you’ve ever read the book, The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite, by David Kessler, M.D., you know what I’m talking about. In his book, Dr. Kessler explains how food manufacturers manipulate sugar, fat and salt to stimulate our appetites, making it easier for us to overeat. I mean, scientists actually study how to make food that chews up and slides down our throats as effortlessly as possible. Yuck! This is an eye-opening book, for sure.

I guess there’s a good reason my salad takes a little longer to eat. It’s made from food found in nature; odd-shaped, hard to fork up, full of fiber, good-for-me food. The slower I eat it, the more time my body has to decide if it’s full or not. Of course, when I think of homemade, veggie-filled soups, my theory gets a bunch of holes in it. Oh well, I never said I was a genius.

Btw, if you are interested in more research about the science of food, check out this post. Fyi, my salad has lettuce, shredded rotisserie chicken, grape tomatoes and some homemade vinaigrette. Yum.

Leave a Reply

