Super cool

This weekend we got out and enjoyed the winter wonderment that Colorado has to offer. What with Mike out of town, and me and the kids being sick, we’ve stuck close to home lately. I was in the mood for some exploring.

Saturday we went for a mellow hike. We live in suburbia city, but just 15 minutes from our house we’ve got access to this:

Wait for me guys!

We had a pretty good time, though there was some temper-tantruming/melting down (the perpetrator will remain nameless, but it’s probably not who you think). Still, a tantrum in the sunshine is much more tolerable than one in the middle of the living room, so I’d call this outing a success.

Sunday I was able to convince the family that it would be awesome to drive an hour and a half up to Breckenridge to check out the snow sculptures.

Glad I did it.

Yup, I’m cool. Just sittin’ here listening to my girl, Taylor Swift!

People were not allowed to climb on all of the sculptures, but there were a few constructed just for fun. Here’s Garrett, the king of the Cadillac Castle.

I’d like to point out that our children do own snow pants, mittens, boots and coats, however, it is not super cool to wear them when you might actually need them. Say, for climbing all over piles of cold snow. They would rather wear canvas sneakers, short socks and hide their hands in their sleeves. Just throw on a beanie and call it a day. I pick my battles.

Serious goof-ball-ness going on here.

This is one of  many “ice hurricanes” lining the walkways where the sculptures were displayed. I just thought they were pretty, and a fun diy for those readers who live in colder climes.

I did wear a coat. And my fuzzy boots. Please excuse Garrett’s rag-a-muffin hair. Since he still has staples in his head, he can’t get a haircut. This week!

Here we have a man in a crazy, furry hat. His companions were similarly attired.

There, now they’ve moved out of the way, you can see the sign. “Wisconsin.” Ahhh, now the hat is starting to make sense. I think he must have been a fellow Wisconsinite. Just a feeling. 

There’s the whole sculpture. Pretty.

I don’t remember who did this one, but I thought the detail on the face was amazing.

There. If you are still reading, you made it through the slideshow of someone else’s weekend “adventures.” I can’t be serious and wellness experty every day. I promise tomorrow I’ll get back on topic.

Hope you all had a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “Super cool

  1. Bev says:

    Looks like you had a beautiful weekend! Gosh, that sky is so blue. The snow sculptures take me back to college and freezing my fingers and toes working on snow sculptures for the winter “carnival.” And, yes, they were at least that big. Good times.

  2. Bev says:

    Probably … but not Floyd R.Turbo style! I know I had fur-lined leather gloves that got ruined. Remember–I was an art major, so I was tapped to work on the finer details of the sculptures. But I also remember stomping snow to pack it into the wooden frame for freezing. Brrrr …

Leave a Reply

