You are getting veerrrry sleepy

Yesterday Mike said to me, “So what, you don’t blog anymore?”

Yeah, it’s been a few days so I figured I’d better get on it. In my defense, our schedule has been a little wacky lately. We had a snow day on Friday, which seemed like Nature’s way of saying, “you deserve to relax and have a three-day weekend.” So I did.

We went for walks in the snow, played with the dog in the snow, looked for Bigfoot (or Squatch, as true Bigfooters call them), made a snowman, ate stew and worked a puzzle by the fire.

Fyi, I have not grown a cone-head. I just have a bally beanie on under my hood.

Remember in this post, where I mentioned my kids don’t want to wear their snow gear? Now you see where they get it from.

We definitely had a great Colorado weekend.

But where does the very sleepy thing come in? No, we didn’t get hypothermia and start falling asleep in the snowy woods. Nope, I’m going to jump topics on you now, and talk about some rest and relaxation meditation I’ve been trying out.

Usually I don’t have much trouble falling or staying asleep. I keep pretty busy, I exercise most days and I don’t nap unless I’m pregnant or sick (neither of which describes my current condition!). My action-packed schedule makes me happy to hit the hay each night.

Except.

Every once in awhile I get a little wound up (who me??!!), especially when Mike is out of town. All of the terrible, murderous, home-invasion stories I’ve ever heard come rushing into my brain the minute my head touches my pillow. My heart pounds, my breathing gets ragged and my snoring dog does nothing to encourage a sense of safety. I end up tossing and turning all night, getting more exhausted with each passing day.

Enter the Relax and Rest app, available at iTunes.

Here’s what the app looks like on an iPhone or iPad. I got this image from Meditation Oasis, creator of this, and other meditation products. Relax and Rest is my first experience with one of their products, so I can’t vouch for anything else they offer. I picked this app because it was cheap and highly rated on iTunes.

As you can see, there are several options, including 5-, 13- and 24-minute meditations. I’ve listened to all of them, and actually used the 13- and 24-minute meditations. The 5-minute is my least favorite, but the longer two are great. I used the 24-minute version last night, and I was stress-free and sleepy in no time. Mike even admitted using the 24-minute on a recent commute, and really liked it. Oops, not sure if I should share that. Oh well, now you know my husband meditated.

We’ve all heard meditation has a host of benefits, both mental and physical, but it’s hard to get started on your own. Of course there are classes, but truth be told, it’s a little weird trying to zone out for an hour in a room full of strangers. Someone usually falls asleep and starts snoring. I know you’re supposed to be able to meditate on through such distractions, but I’m just not that good.

So, if you don’t have much experience meditating, and are looking for a user-friendly way to give it a try, I’d recommend this app. It’s only $0.99 folks. If you don’t like it, you haven’t lost much, and there are lots of other options. In fact, if you’re looking for something a little different, there’s a great recording by Deepak Chopra where he chants about banishing disease from all the nooks and crannies in your body. And I do mean all of them. Check it out here.

Btw, I wasn’t paid or perked to talk about anything in this post. I’m sure Meditation Oasis has never heard of wishfit. I just like share info. about useful stuff. Happy meditating.

2 thoughts on “You are getting veerrrry sleepy

Leave a Reply

