Quotation Tuesday

I don’t think there is such a thing as Quotation Tuesday. I made it up because I needed a post title, I have some quotations to share, and it’s Tuesday. I doos it how I doos it.

So, on we go.

Just like my friend Sherry over at Young House Love (ok, so we’re not actually friends because that would mean she would have to know who I am, but she and John did like my bookcase), has a mantra of  thin, even coats of spray paint, my mantra is small, sustainable changes. Well, that and “So what? I’m still a rock star,” but that’s a story for another day.

I think my change mantra builds nicely on yesterday’s post about eating for optimal functioning, and this quote from celebrity trainer Jay Cardiello:

Being fit isn’t just about your reflection in the mirror; it involves how you feel and move, as well as how your health affects the people in your life, including children, family, and friends. If you focus on those elements rather than your appearance, you will see a transformation.

Because I am not a celebrity, I don’t know anything about Jay, but I do like what he’s saying. Focus on making small changes, and how those changes make you feel, rather than drastic moves that may be difficult to sustain. Maybe you haven’t lost that 20 pounds yet, but notice you might be sleeping better, feeling happier, handling life’s stressors with greater ease. Recognize those rewards, and weight loss will happen eventually.

Plus, he’s kinda cute, huh?

Photo: cardiellofitness.com

The other quote I want to share is this one from Dianne Bailey, owner of the Conditioning Classroom in Centennial, CO.

Working out is not an optional activity, when we get right down to it. It truly is a matter of life or death.

If you’ve only got 10 pounds to lose, and you feel pretty decent most of the time, you might think that statement is a little hardcore, but there is truth in it. What you are doing, or rather, NOT doing now, may in fact alter the length, or at the very least, the quality of your life. Just as calories appear to be multi-dimensional, so too is exercise. Yes, you can lose weight and look better, but exercise also impacts your immune system, mood, sleep, aging, joint health and so much more. And for people with weight or lifestyle related illnesses, exercise really could be the difference between living (and living well) and dying.

And finally, the last quote, an oldie but a goodie.

Now, you listen to me, mister. God did not put me on this earth to be awakened by filthy suggestions from a foul-mouthed hooligan like you.

Ten points if you recognize that one! Happy Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

