Yoga downloads

Hi friends. I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend. We went from 82 degrees and sunny yesterday, to a mix of rain and snow today. Love Colorado!

* still haven’t figured out how to get rid of “shadow face.”

With the kids off at school (Garrett is “helping” out at Graham’s preschool today), and the weather yucky, today is feeling like an indoor kind of day. A perfect day for yoga!

Remember a couple of weeks ago when I wrote about my visit to Half Moon Studios? At the end of the post I mentioned a new yoga resource I was going to try out, and hopefully share with you. Well, my trusty yoga companion and I have logged some mat time trying out a few classes available from Yoga Download, and we likey.

Yes, that is my dog’s butt, nestled up against the top of my head. No, this photo is not staged. She lay down like that, and my phone happened to be within reach. I wish I could say this was an isolated incident, but it is actually quite common. As soon as I unroll my mat in the living room, she moseys on in and plops down. She stays as close to me as I’ll let her while I practice. Apparently Morgie needs some relaxing vibes as much as I do.

So anyway, back to Yoga Download. It’s an online treasure trove of just about any style yoga you can imagine, with some meditation and pilates thrown in for fun. Teachers record classes you can stream for a one-time listen, or download and permanently add to your yoga arsenal. There are audio classes, video classes, and–possibly my favorite part–pose guides with photos demonstrating each move used in the class. That way, if you’re listening to a class and aren’t sure of a pose, you can check the pose guide to make sure you’ve got it right.

Of course all of this yoga-y goodness isn’t free, but some of it is. In fact, the free classes are the only ones I’ve tried so far, and they’re great. I downloaded and tried: Gentle Yoga (video with Kiersten) and the Gentle Hatha Flow series 1-4 (audio only with Jackie). The four Hatha classes are only 20 minutes each, which is great if you want to sneak a yoga break into your day. They do seem a little disjointed and rushed, as though they are parts taken from a longer, more complete class. And maybe they are, but still, for the price (zilch!), they suited my needs. I love that I was able to sample some free classes before I buy. If I want something longer, or a little more specific, I may actually purchase some downloads in the future.

If you are new to yoga, I’d recommend trying a live class at a studio or gym before going the home route. Nothing replaces the experience you get in a good class with a knowledgeable instructor. But if you want to supplement your practice, or only have time for shorter, do-anytime yoga, this is just another resource for quality classes. Plus, when you practice at home, you can go make-up free, wear your jammas, and snuggle with your dog’s butt. So there you have it.

Btw, I’m not affiliated with Yoga Download, and wasn’t paid or perked to write this post. I just like to share the cool stuff I find.

One thought on “Yoga downloads

  1. Chrissy says:

    This is a great resource to keep the home practice fresh. Sometimes you just don’t want to have to think about the next step. In this case it is nice just to be told what to do!

Leave a Reply

