Allergic to the world

I’ve had allergies as long as I can remember. They were pretty bad as a kid, and I remember going through testing and shots. When I was 10, my family moved from Wisconsin to California, and I got a break from my symptoms for awhile. Different part of the country, different allergens. But I adapted, and the allergies came back. Since I left home for college (just a few years ago! Ha!), I’ve moved often; hopscotching my way back and forth across the country. The first year in a new place is always great, but by year two, those pesky allergies hit with a vengeance.

Here we are, year two in Colorado, and I decided to take action. I was tired of feeling totally lousy for big chunks of the year, and kinda lousy for another good chunk. If you’ve got serious allergies, you know what I’m talking about. So yesterday, I spent a couple of hours at the allergist, being tested.

That’s my sexy, over the shoulder allergy testing pose. Nice, right?

That’s one of my forearms, maybe 40 minutes after the first allergens pierced my skin, and after the nice testing lady slathered antihistamine cream all over it. It actually looked a lot worse right after she did it , but the red still pops nicely against my white skin in this photo.

It actually wasn’t that bad, though it looks and sounds kind of tortuous. They puncture both forearms from wrist to elbow with lots of common allergens. Once you start to welt up, they measure each spot in order to label your degree of allergic response. Then they use the upper arm to “refine” your response, in order to see what your special blend of shot serum should be.

Clearly I had an extreme response. The allergy lady said I had the most severe response she’d seen in awhile. An allergy overachiever, if you will. I’m strangely proud of that, which is admittedly weird.

Anyway, I start shots next week, and I’m actually excited. There’s a good possibility that by this time next year, I’ll be symptom-free, though I’d settle for even a 50 percent reduction.

Immunotherapy is a big commitment. You have to go weekly for a long time, and keep up with the shots at varying intervals for years. But for me, it’s about quality of life. I don’t want to spend my days inside, with the windows closed because my symptoms are so severe. Nor do I want to suffer through summer hikes, sneezing and itching and annoyed as all get out. So, I’m giving this a try.

In other news, stay tuned for another MRI update later in the week. What? Did you think you were reading wishfit? The blog of a fitness wonder? Nope, Trish turned this blog over to an 80-year-old woman who is falling apart! Follow her as she recounts the trials and tribulations of working through the medical system.

Seriously though, I look at what I’m doing right now as trying to take control of my health. Part of wellness is DOING something about the stuff that is negatively affecting your life. Overall, I feel great, but there are a couple of things that need to be dealt with. So, instead of constantly complaining, I’m choosing to take action, even if that action is frustrating and annoying. Hopefully it pays off in the end. And if not, at least I know I exhausted all of my options.

Can you think of anything you’ve been putting off regarding your life and health? Or, maybe you finally dealt with something that had been nagging you forever, and it made a huge difference? I’d like to hear about that, please.

3 thoughts on “Allergic to the world

  1. Judy-O says:

    There’s an easier way to check allergies than all those poke holes! Please come to Albuquerque…and let me host you at “The Camp” and get you connected with Dr. J Dunn and her Wholistic Kinesiology Clinic. It would be great to see you again…and I think you’d be amazed and impressed with the care here.

    • wishfit says:

      Too late now! I should have talked to you first. Thanks for your kind invite. I hear you are quite the hostess. I’ll have to see if I can work something out.

Leave a Reply

