Food lovers

Yesterday, I wrote about finding joy in food. Today, I’d like to share two blogs that really represent the goal I’ve set for myself and my family regarding healthy, enjoyable eating.

This is Jenna, from Eat, Live, Run.

I don’t know her. She doesn’t know me. I sure do love her blog though. She’s a classically trained chef, and makes her living as a food blogger and freelance recipe developer. She mostly writes about her adventures in cooking and eating, and includes her fantastic recipes and gorgeous food photos. I’ve had great success with several recipes from her site including, Chicken Masala, Whole Wheat Cinnamon Swirl Bread, Wheat Berry Salad with Corn and Smoked Mozzarella, and Gnocchi with Goat Cheese, Grape Tomatoes and Basil.

Some of her concoctions are fresh and healthy, like the wheat berry salad, and some are a little more decadent, like the cinnamon bread. What I like is that she seems to use mostly pure, seasonal, simple ingredients. She also writes about her active lifestyle, her love of books and her passion for fashion–all things I enjoy too. Ok, full disclosure: my fashion is a work-in-progress.

The second blog I’m diggin’ is Dinner, A Love Story, written by Jenny Rosenstrach.

The author of DALS is a married mom to two girls, and her mission is to “inspire you to keep fighting the fight,” by committing to family dinner. Reading over that description, it sounds like this blog is kind of stodgy or something. It’s not. Rosenstrach is funny and down-to-earth, and she’s an excellent writer. Plus, the food is superb and manageable. We’ve made her Yogurt-Marinated Grilled Chicken a couple of times and it’s awesome.

As a busy mom, I often struggle to find creative ways to make healthy food that will satisfy a herd of hungry man-children. DALS is not only a great resource for recipes, I know the writer is facing similar challenges in her home. If she can do it, I can too. I also like her philosophy. Check out this recent post to see what I mean.

There you have it. Just two of the many worthy food blogs out there. Btw, I’m sharing these sites with you simply because I love them, and find them inspiring. I don’t know either of these ladies, and I am in no way benefitting from this post. I hope you do though!

Oh, and one last thing: I can’t vouch for the diet-friendliness of every recipe on these blogs. The writers are much more “foodie” than I am, and I don’t know that low-fat is the objective in every recipe. I’m able to pick and choose recipes I know are healthy, or sub ingredients for lighter options. And sometimes I just make the real deal, and enjoy every last bite. Still, their overall message is one of fresh, natural and balanced, and I can definitely vouch for that.

One thought on “Food lovers

Leave a Reply

