Panic mode

Thursday is the last day of school. Dun dun duuunnn.

I’ve been thinking about how I’ll manage this summer–trying to create quality blog posts, start a wellness coaching practice, and continue my normal “administrative” duties around the house–with the added bonus of two, active, high-energy, did I say active, boys around constantly. All the time. No break. No alone time. Except for showers, and even that is iffy.

Listen, I know I can’t complain much. There are tons of parents out there scrambling to find summer care for their kids, putting together a patchwork of babysitters, camps, and trades with other parents. I’m grateful I can “take the summer off” with my kids. Still, I’m panicking a little bit.

How am I going to make any progress with my career goals? Why didn’t I do more before school got out? How is it Tuesday afternoon, and my next two days are pretty packed with appointments, and I’m nowhere near prepared for constant kids? Yikes!

I had all weekend to check items off my to-do list. And I did work on blog/coaching stuff for a couple of hours on Saturday. But, I did a lot more of this

Note: the shish kabob photo was taken by Garrett. The composition is not so great, but man, that meat was good! If you’re interested, it’s tequila lime marinated chicken and veggies from Whole Foods meat counter. 

So, maybe I wasn’t as productive as I could have been. We had a great weekend, and I’m planning on a great summer too. I hope you guys come along for the ride.

A few highlights:

  • I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but over the last few months this blog has focused a little less on exercise and a little more on other aspects of wellness. I have NOT given up on my love of fitness, even though I’m looking more like a “before” photo than an “after,” right now. I’m still on this journey with my back/hip issue, and trying to figure out how to return to more vigorous pursuits. I’m feeling really positive right now (though that changes frequently), and I’ve got some tricks up my sleeve, so I hope to share some of that with you.
  • Even with my limitations, there’s still a lot I can do, and I intend to focus on more exercise content over the next couple of months. Just this morning, I secured my very own personal photographer/videographer. He’s young, enthusiastic, and required to follow directions. Oh yeah, and he’s free. With his help (have you figured it out yet?) I plan to get some more how-to posts up, reminiscent of this one, and this one.
  • With the boys both home and raring to go, I’m planning to fill the days with lots of activities. From swimming, to hiking, to local sight-seeing, we’ll be getting out and exploring our area. If I could put you in my new daypack I would (or not; that would be heavy), but following wishfit is the next best thing.
  • Finally, as I mentioned here, I’m working slowly but surely on wishfit wellness coaching. I imagine there are a lot of you who don’t really know what wellness coaching is, or how the principles of coaching can help you make positive changes in your health and fitness. Look for information on coaching, more tips for improving your own wellness, and specifics on my coaching practice.

The next couple of months are bound to be a little hectic, and it’s likely I’ll feel like putting my fingers in my ears and singing, “la, la, la, la, la, I can’t hear you!” on more than one occasion. I may post five days a week. I may post two. A new post might pop up at 5:30 am, or maybe even waaaay past my bedtime at like, 10:30 pm or something. But what started last summer as a “let’s just see how this goes” project, has become something I love. Partly because it gives me an outlet to write about my favorite subjects, and partly because the comments and feedback from you mean so much to me. I’m more committed to wishfit than ever, and I hope you stick around as I try to make it grow.

5 thoughts on “Panic mode

  1. Bev says:

    Actually, this Papa. I’v hijacked your mom’s e-mail address. If you want to get some alone time, UPS the boys to us. We will bring them back when we come out in July. If that’s to long for them to be gone just stamp their foreheads with return postage. Love.

Leave a Reply

