The top 7 things I learned at the 2012 Fitness & Health Bloggers Conference

I spent the better part of the weekend soaking up some of the latest research on weight management, obesity, exercise, alternative medicine and nutrition at the 2012 Fitness & Health Bloggers Conference. The things I do for you people!

Ok, the truth is I did it for me, but it’s going to benefit you too because I’ll share it all here. I learned waaaayyyy more than I can cram into one post, however, so here are my top 7 takeaways:

  1. Diet AND exercise are needed for long-term weight-loss.
  2. It doesn’t matter what diet you follow when you’re trying to lose weight. The research proves they ALL work the same way: restricting calories.
  3. It might matter what diet you follow to keep the weight off.
  4. People in the United States are fatter than people in other countries in large part because we move less.
  5. About 38 percent of people in the U.S. use some form of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), such as meditation, acupuncture, and “natural” supplements.
  6. Manufacturers of those supplements don’t need FDA approval prior to putting their product on the market, and the FDA only steps in once a supplement is shown to cause harm. As in, some people die.
  7. Research doesn’t point to any one food as the culprit of internal inflammation, however, it seems that being overweight or obese does lead to harmful inflammation, causing an increase in heart disease and/or diabetes, among other health problems.

Stay tuned in the days ahead for more detailed information on these topics.

Oh, and a few other things I learned:

  1. While it is not that hard to create a Twitter account, figuring out how to use it and add a “follow me” button on your blog is another story (for me, at least).
  2. People really love their fancy, shmancy locker rooms.
  3. Fresh fennel is pretty awesome.

One thought on “The top 7 things I learned at the 2012 Fitness & Health Bloggers Conference

Leave a Reply

