Back to school . . . back from the dead

Yes, I am still alive.

It’s been awhile, I know. The end of summer has been a tad busy here in wishfit land, but with half a week of school under our belts, hopefully the schedule will even out a bit.

I’ve missed you. I’ve written posts in my head that just haven’t quite made it to the keyboard. So, let’s catch up a bit, shall we?

The Good

Broncos training camp. Anyone recognize number 18 and his sweet warm-up moves?

Now do you know who it is? I think he’s looking right at me.

Peyton Manning, baby, workin’ hard.

Mike and Garrett also did their annual backpacking trip. They actually have two planned this year, but the first was the most ambitious. Seven miles I think, and then they stayed near a lake and fished for a couple of days before hiking out.

Garrett caught his first fish with a fly rod (though I’m not sure the one he is lovin’ up on in this photo is that one. I don’t fish).

I think this next photo is probably the dorkiest picture of Mike I’ve seen in a looonngggg time. So, I had to share it.

Here is the hardened backpacker, on the trail.

Seriously, that pack is huge. How does he not tip over?

While the older boys had their fun, Graham and I spent a nice weekend together. We had a garage sale with the neighbor, went to a movie in the park, mosied through a local farmer’s market, and played outside a lot.

We’ve also done some swimming, enjoyed some hikes, and hung out in the neighborhood a lot over the last few weeks. Just a lazy end to a fast summer.

The Bad

Recently, Graham had surgery to correct an umbilical hernia. He’s had it since birth, and we’ve known for a while that it wasn’t going to resolve on its own. So, we bit the bullet and scheduled the surgery. And while it was nothing terribly serious, any time there is general anesthesia involved, the risk goes up a bit. We were nervous, but it all turned out fine.

Say goodbye to the outie.

Btw, if you’re not familiar, an umbilical hernia is when abdominal lining or organs bulge out in the area around the belly button. It’s not usually dangerous, but can cause problems as kids get older and more active.

I got to stay with Graham almost the whole time, including accompanying him into surgery, and holding his hand as they put him to sleep. Hence, the awesome marshmallow costume.

He did really well, and was bouncing around in a day or two. He’s so proud of his new innie, he shows anyone who will look. Seriously. Anyone.

I’ve titled this episode “The Bad” but really, it turned out just fine.

The Ugly

We have mold.

Well, scratch that. We had mold. Now we have this:

Those photos show the master bedroom, but they could also be pictures of the living room downstairs. We’ve had leaky windows for a while now, and upon trying to find the source of the leak outside, workers discovered mold inside the back wall of the house.

As we drove home from the surgery center after Graham’s procedure, we got a call from our landlord telling us we needed to move into a hotel for the week. That day.

The mold wasn’t the awful black kind that you hear about making people sick, but the removal process was pretty invasive, and not safe for us to be around. So, I packed up the kids and the dog, and off to the hotel we went. For the week.

Not the best timing, kind of annoying, like a weird, pseudo vacation or something. But by the end of the week we were back in our house, and they’ve moved on to reconstruction. Hopefully the project will be complete by the end of this week.

My mantra throughout this episode has been, “at least we don’t have to pay for it.”

In the midst of all of this fun and chaos, I found out my thyroid is underactive (hypothyroidism), and I started taking a thyroid medication. So that’s why I was feeling so stinkin’ tired all day long. It’s been over a week, and I do notice a big difference already. No more afternoon naps. Well, hardly ever.

So, there you have it. Life. It never really settles down, does it?

5 thoughts on “Back to school . . . back from the dead

  1. terry says:

    Martha Stewart’s Living magazine has an excellent article on hypothyroidism (and hyperthyroidism) in the September issue.

    • wishfit says:

      I’ll have to look at that. I’ve seen several articles on thyroid function just in the last few days. Hot topic or I’m just more attuned to it right now

Leave a Reply

