Monday odds and ends

It’s Monday, so either you are still half asleep, wishing the weekend didn’t go so fast, or, you are feeling fresh and rested, ready to plan your tasks for the week. I am feeling more like the later, which is definitely NOT the case every Monday.

In addition to being the beginning of the week, it’s also October 1st. I think October is my all-time favorite month (besides March, which is my birthday month and just makes me happy). I love the weather changes, the chance to really start baking, Halloween–I even love the way the word “October” looks. Remember, I have a thing for words.

Anyway, as I sat here this morning, planning my life, I found/remembered a few things I wanted to share with you:

  • Wednesday is Walk to School Day. If you were a wishfit reader last year, you might remember this post. A whole year later, and we are still hoofing it on a regular basis. Now Graham even joins in, though he rides his bike because he tends to wander when he walks. Not a good way to get to school on time. Though Garrett would still choose the bus over walking if given the opportunity, we all really do enjoy the walk. It’s a great way to start out a longer walk, or, just get a little extra activity in the day. Plus, when Garrett takes the bus, he doesn’t really want to be seen hugging me goodbye, but when we walk to school, he holds my hand voluntarily. It’s sweet, plus, I can drag keep him moving along a little quicker that way.

  • You know YHL is one of my favorite blogs, but did you know they have an offshoot called Young House Life? Well, I don’t read that too often, because, well, I have my own one of those and it keeps me pretty busy. Today, however, they hooked me with this tease:Psst- John’s gearing up for his annual health-a-thon. The name? Aquatober. The game? It’s all explained over on Young House Life.It’s about how soda-loving John gives up all sugary drinks for the month of October. It’s a great idea, no? So, I thought I’d share it with all of you on October 1st, just in case you feel like joining in on the fun. In fact, I’m even going to commit to a month of drinking nothing but water, milk, coffee, and tea. Lately, I’ve been going a little overboard on sugary drinks, which is really unusual for me. For the last couple of months I’ve rarely met a lemonade, fruit punch, or Izze I didn’t like. Weird craving right?
  • Well, maybe not so weird because . . .

I’m about four months pregnant!

That has been a hard secret to keep, especially since this pregnancy has had a HUGE impact on my food intake and fitness regimen. It’s been rough around here, people, really rough.

I won’t bore you with too many details, but up until a few weeks ago, I’d been feeling lousy morning til night. Any ability to eat fresh fruit and vegetables went right out the window. Salad? Forget about it! It was all carbs, all the time, with a lot of eggs thrown in there too. I think I drank more soda (ginger ale and sprite) in the first three months of my pregnancy than in the last five years.

I’m still not great friends with salad, but I’m starting to manage a much healthier variety of foods again. That weird drink craving is causing me some concern, though. Drinking Red Dye Number 5-laden Hi-C fruit punch is not something I would ever normally even consider, yet for some reason right now, it calls out to me–loudly. This is something of a problem because you know how I feel about drinking calories. So, I decided I’ve indulged my cravings enough, and now it’s time to knock it off! Hence, the Aquatober challenge I told you about, above.

For the next month, I commit to no drinks with added sugar, no matter how much the baby begs. Oh, and for those of you concerned by my mention of drinking coffee and tea, nothing to worry about. The tea I drink is non-herbal and decaf, and I limit the coffee to either decaf or the occasional cup of regular. According to the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) moderate caffeine intake–less than 200 milligrams a day–is considered safe, and won’t increase the risk of miscarriage or preterm birth. In general, 200 milligrams of caffeine is equal to one 12-ounce cup of coffee.

Many days, the thought of even one cup of coffee makes my stomach do flip-flops, but sometimes it really hits the spot.

I will also be continuing an active and appropriate exercise routine throughout my pregnancy. Especially now that I’m feeling a little more energetic. And while wishfit won’t turn into a baby/pregnancy blog, I will certainly share tidbits about pre- and post-natal exercise and diet as I try to be fit and healthy during and after pregnancy.

So, there you have it. There has been a lot going on behind the scenes around here. And for those of you wondering, I am due in March, we never find out the gender of a bun in the oven, and both boys are very excited and hope for a sister.

How’s that for a Monday?

10 thoughts on “Monday odds and ends

  1. liz says:

    Congrats, you look adorable! While I was pregnant with the twins I couldn’t eat salad. It made me so sick. Good luck with drink challenge.

    • wishfit says:

      Thanks! I feel so enormous already. So fast with number 3. This pregnancy is wildly different than the others. It’s sad about the salad as I usually eat them often. Oh we’ll, plenty of time for bunny food after the baby comes and I’m trying to get back in my jeans!

  2. Pingback: 10 years | wishfit

Leave a Reply

