A little weekend romance

Over the weekend I went on a much-needed getaway with my husband (of 10 years!), and left my kids behind with their grandparents. Is it wrong that I wish I were still away? No, I don’t think it is.

We spent the weekend in Beaver Creek, CO (near Vail), and had such a wonderful time. We went out to extravagant and indulgent meals, we went for a nine mile hike (yes, prego did nine miles like it was almost nuthin’), “we” watched football, “we” read, and we slept whenever we wanted for however long we wanted. It was 1.5 days of heaven, that felt like two weeks.

The weather was kind of crappy, but we didn’t care. Here’s Mike heading to the trailhead for our Saturday morning hike. It was raining, then snowing, then raining again. Those of us in the weather know like to call that a wintery mix.

Here I am on the trail. You can really see why Mike has stuck around for all these years. I am one sexy hiker. FYI, that is not all baby belly you see lumped into my (actually Mike’s) jacket. It’s a water bottle, socks (don’t ask), kleenex, and sunglasses. That would be one weird-shaped baby.

Here is a random trail shot. Pretty trees in the snow.

Finally, our hard-earned dinner. Ok, really it was just my hard-earned dinner. I think Mike must have felt as though he was hiking with Graham considering my slow pace and frequent stops to, you know, breathe.

Sorry for the grainy shot. iPhone + dim lights = bad photo. We took a couple where Mike was not sticking out his tongue, but I look the best in this one, and it’s my blog, so . . .

One of my favorite parts was the hike, actually. Even though it was cold and pretty challenging for me, it was so nice to be out there on our own. No kids yammering away (oops, did I just say “yammering? I meant “chatting.”), no stopping to look at every stick and bug, no one harassing us for snacks every two seconds. Don’t get me wrong, I love taking my kids hiking. And even when it’s not the most fun for me, I know it means so much to them. But every once in awhile, it’s so stinkin’ awesome to leave them at home.

It also made me feel great to know I could still do a decent chunk of a hike like that. Like I said, I was s.l.o.w., and I had to stop frequently for water and breath-catching, but still, not too shabby.

And for those of you who might be wondering, it is perfectly safe to do somewhat strenuous exercise during pregnancy. Especially if you are used to it in your pre-baby life, and especially if you are mindful of your hydration, breathing, and footing. And most especially if you eat little pork belly and fried green tomato “BLTs” to refuel after said strenuous exercise. Just my little expert tip for you!

3 thoughts on “A little weekend romance

    • wishfit says:

      I remember it fondly. It’s such a great description. I’m really so very happy to live in a place where it’s an appropriate term to use on a consistent basis! Lake effect snow, however, is one I would be happy never to say again!

Leave a comment